Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

sunflowers
“Summer afternoon-summer afternoon;to me those have always been the two most beautiful words in the English language.” – Henry James

It’s July 1st today; my kid has started camp; summer has officially begun.

There will still be work this summer. I’m beginning a new series of prints (more on that later) and will be busy in my studio.

But the sun shines and the air is warm and gentle. It’s time to channel my inner Henry James and make the most of these lovely afternoons before they are gone.

For me this means, heading outside to find a spot in the leafy shade with a hefty book and a cold drink. My son and I have decided we should lie on the ground and look at the sky every day. I think a root beer float will happen sometime soon.

But mostly I hope summer will mean more nothing…quiet, peaceful, restful nothing. Lots of moments of not much. Easy does it.

How about you? How are you planning to make the most of summer?

