Tags

, , , , , , , ,

baseballs

My son just started Little League. I’m watching his practice as I type this. The sun is bright. The grass is green green. The kids are all running and frolicking like a litter of puppies, the coach barking instructions and admonitions.

These practices don’t have the same lighthearted loopyness of little kid sports. This feels like the big time.

batsinthefence

As I watch I’m filled with admiration for all the boys out there. They are just learning. It’s not easy to catch a ball in a glove or connect with the ball when you swing a bat. But they aren’t discouraged or ashamed. They have practice mind working. They know they are beginners.

And they really are role models for the rest of us who won’t try things we don’t already know we are good at.

field

