Tags

, , , , , , , ,

lovely kid art: no rules apply

lovely kid art: no rules apply

I like rules in art. They help me know what to do and what not to do, like helpful signposts.

Don’t use pure black…mix your own. It will be richer and more interesting without flattening the work.

The rule of thirds. The color wheel. Warm colors, cool shadows.

These rules are so helpful, especially when you are first finding your way. When you want every bit of guidance about what to do and what not to do.

But, of course, rules are also limiting. And they can make you judgmental and snobbish to others and (yikes) about your own work.

watercolors

Recently I stood in front of a display of acrylic paint tubes at the art supply store and was a little shocked to hear how many rules I was giving myself about what colors I am allowed to buy. I generally don’t buy colors I can mix because paint is expensive and I like mixing my own hues, but wow! There I was telling myself it’s not okay to buy portrait pink or light magenta or sky blue. I’m so bossy.

So I bought the colors I really wanted. And then it dawned on me that I can do anything I want in my own work. I’m the only one making the rules at this point (I know you already know this…I’m the last one to the table sometimes).

What’s next? Glitter? Drippy, messy, crazy paint? I don’t know but now I’m on the look-out for ways to break my own rules.

Look out world.

