Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

watches

One of my intentions for 2014 is to cultivate more patience. When this idea came to me I had a flash of resistance. I thought, “I don’t want to sit around and wait for things to happen.”

Waiting is a drag. Waiting is drumming your fingers on the table, playing a mind-numbing game on your smart phone, hearing the receptionist call names that aren’t yours. When you wait you feel powerless to hasten things along.

banjo

I once read a quote by the Buddhist nun Pema Chodron about a dog with a biscuit on its nose, waiting for the owner to signal “okay” to eat it. She pointed out that it’s effortful for the dog to wait, to dwell in that state of anticipation. But the dog has been trained in patience; trained to sit through the uncomfortable time until the “okay” comes.

So for 2014 I am going to practice patience. I won’t be passively waiting for things to hurry along. Instead, I’ll be working toward my goals and trying to learn to be okay with the time it takes for life’s treats to come.

Maybe I should spend more time with dogs?

