Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

KellycommishFinalWATERMARKED
This week I delivered this finished painting, which is a commissioned painting (but not a portrait) of the family’s four children. I don’t call it a portrait because it doesn’t aim for an exact likeness. Instead, I try to capture the spirit and personalities of the subjects.

Here are a few of the stages of this painting:

commishWIP
This was the underpainting. I wanted to lay down some interesting colors to build on and give myself a sense of the positions of the figures.

kellycommishStage2
Then the positions and shapes of the figures became a bit more clear and I continued to add layers of color.

kellycommishmiddle
And then I can see it start to take shape. I use charcoal to correct figure details and make sure the shapes are correct. I do that often as I go since figure painting involves making lots of corrections.

KellycommishFinalWATERMARKED
And voila! The finished piece. This one was really a treat to work on.

