Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

As I was walking around in and out of my studio this week I saw lots of details that look like abstractions. Like this:window

and also this:

palettedetail

and this one:

footprintonlino

and finally:

crackedpaint

When I wasn’t walking around or celebrating the 4th, I did manage to get some work done. I’ve started another in my series of woodcuts of master paintings. This one is Soap Bubbles by Chardin. I love Chardin’s beautiful, quiet paintings. So different from the imaginary abstracts above!

Anyway, here’s the initial sketch I drew:
soapbubblesSketch

and here’s the woodcut just getting underway:
soapbubblesWIP1watermarked

I love leaving the studio on Friday with something I’m dying to get back to on Monday. It’s always good to keep the momentum going!

