Tags

, , , , , ,

smarthappymind
When you spend a lot of time around six and seven year old kids (as I do) you begin to delight in their enthusiasm for everyday life. The smallest things are a cause for celebration.

“I saw a city bus!”
“I had macaroni for lunch!”
“I get to ride my bike after school today!”

Of all the ways the kids exclaim over life, though, my favorite is the unabashed pleasure they take in their own success.

“I’m so awesome!” (after solving a math problem)
“I’m so good at art!”
“I’m the best runner ever!”

These exclamations are shouted for all the world to hear, in voices full of delight, happiness and pure self-satisfaction. No worries about who might hear or whether or not it’s polite to toot one’s own horn.

What happens to us, I wonder, as we grow up that steals away this excitement at our successes? Why do we adults shy away from proclaiming our achievements from the rooftops? Or, if not the rooftops, our own houses when we are alone?

So I’m giving myself an assignment. When I cook a good dinner, or have a good day in the studio, or tell a joke that makes someone else laugh I’m going to throw my arms up in the air and yell, “I’m so awesome!”

If we all start doing it, maybe the rest of the grown ups won’t think we’re so crazy. Maybe we’ll even start a movement. I think a little more celebration can only be a good thing.

Thanks for the inspiration, kids!
atthewalrus

