Tags

, , , , , , , ,

friendswatermarked
It was a wonderful vacation full of museums, walking, restaurant meals, music and seeing old friends. So good, in fact, that I didn’t think hardly at all of home and work and my studio. Restful and rejuvenating.

Now I’m back to work and planning a session on the printing press later this week. It feels good to be back at work with renewed energy and attention. I’ll have some new images to share with you soon!

In the meantime, I wanted to wax lyrical about seeing old friends in this blog post, especially about how seeing someone who has known you forever helps you feel in sharper focus again. It pulls you out of the moment of your life and reminds you that you are the total of all your history up to this very moment.

As usual, though, there are those who say things much better than I could. So to reflect on the joy of my vacation to friendship I give you this poem by Richard Brautigan:

Your Catfish Friend

by Richard Brautigan

If I were to live my life
in catfish forms
in scaffolds of skin and whiskers
at the bottom of a pond
and you were to come by
one evening
when the moon was shining
down into my dark home
and stand there at the edge
of my affection
and think, “It’s beautiful
here by this pond. I wish
somebody loved me,”
I’d love you and be your catfish
friend and drive such lonely
thoughts from your mind
and suddenly you would be
at peace,
and ask yourself, “I wonder
if there are any catfish
in this pond? It seems like
a perfect place for them.”

