Tags

, , , , , , ,

star
I love the book Stars written by Mary Lyn Ray with brilliant illustrations by Marla Frazee.

The premise of the book is contained in this quote:

“A star is how you know it’s almost night.
As soon as you see one, there’s another, and another.
And the dark that comes doesn’t feel so dark.
What if you could have a star?”

The book suggests you make a paper star and carry it in your pocket. I fell in love with this idea and I wanted to do it. What kind of magic might come from carrying a star in your pocket? But I quickly realized that after one wearing, I’d forget to take it out of my pocket and the star would go through the laundry and be turned into papery shreds of lint.

This is not a fitting fate for something as beautiful and meaningful as a star.

Of course, I thought, we all carry our own starlight inside of us…our own internal radiance. Yeah, yeah, I said to myself. That’s not very original even though it’s true.

So how could I carry a star?

And then one day I found this necklace and even though it’s not in the exact right shape I knew it was my star. So I wear it whenever I feel like I want to carry a star in my pocket. And I have to admit…it does make me feel an extra bit shiny and bright.

What kind of star would you like to carry?

